Print

About DECADE Mentors 

DECADE  Mentors are committed to fostering an inclusive environment within UCI’s graduate programs, and promoting diversity within the graduate student population campuswide. They serve as a resource to graduate students and faculty alike, collaborating with Equity Advisors and UCI’s Graduate Division to accomplish their program’s goals. The DECADE Mentor Program is directed by Professor Roxane Cohen Silver, Associate Director of the ADVANCE Program.

There are currently 43 DECADE Mentors campuswide, each covering a specific graduate program.

Current DECADE Mentors 

SchoolProgramNameEmailPhone
(949-824 area code/prefix unless stated)
Claire Trevor School of the Arts
ArtSimon Leungleungss@uci.edu4-6648
DanceTong Wangwangt5@uci.edu
DramaJuliette Carrillojuliette.carrillo@uci.edu4-6132
MusicNina Scolniknscolnik@uci.edu
School of Biological Sciences
Cellular and Molecular Biosciences Program; Developmental & Cell Biology; Molecular Biology & BiochemistryMatt Inlayminlay@uci.edu4-8226
Ecology & Evolutionary BiologyDonovan Germandgerman@uci.edu4-5368
Neurobiology & Behavior/Interdepartmental Neuroscience ProgramSusana Cohen-Coryscohenco@uci.edu4-8188
The Paul Merage School of Business
School-wideLibby Weberlweber@uci.edu4-9149
School of Education
School-wideRossella Santagata
r.santagata@uci.edu
4-0434
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Biomedical EngineeringWendy Liuwendy.liu@uci.edu4-1682
Chemical & Biomolecular EngineeringTayloria Adamstayloria@uci.edu4-6726
Civil & Environmental EngineeringFarzin Zareianzareian@uci.edu4-9866
Electrical & Computer EngineeringJean-Luc Gaudiotgaudiot@uci.edu4-9748
Materials Science & EngineeringTim Ruperttrupert@uci.edu4-4937
Mechanical & Aerospace EngineeringHaithem Tahahetaha@uci.edu4-8148
Graduate Division Sponsored Programs
Mathematical, Computational, and Systems BiologyGerman Encisoenciso@uci.edu4-3727
Network Systems; Transportation SciencesNalini Venkatasubramaniannalini@uci.edu4-5898
School of Humanities
Classics; Culture & Theory; East Asian Studies; GermanR. Radhakrishnan (Fall/Winter)
---------------
Jerry Won Lee (Spring)
rradhakr@uci.edu
------------------
jwl@uci.edu
Comparative LiteratureJane Newman (Fall)
--------------------
Ackbar Abbas (Winter/Spring)
jonewman@uci.edu
--------------------
mabbas@uci.edu
4-6406
--------------
4-6406
EnglishJoseph Jeonjjjeon@uci.edu
HistoryRachel O'Toolerotoole@uci.edu4-6318
PhilosophyKarl Schaferschaferk@uci.edu4-6525
Spanish & PortugueseLuis Avileslaviles@uci.edu4-7268
Visual StudiesBambi Hagginsbhaggins@uci.edu4-3532
Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
Computer ScienceNalini Venkatasubramaniannalini@uci.edu4-5898
InformaticsKatie Salen Tekinbasksalen@uci.edu
StatisticsMichele Guindanimichele.guindani@uci.edu4-5968
School of MedicineAnatomy, Biological Chemistry, Experimental Pathology, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, Neurobiology, Physiology and BiophysicsKevin Beierkbeier@uci.edu4-1083
Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
School-wideCandace Burton (Fall)
----------------
Alison Holman (Winter/Spring)
cwburton@uci.edu
---------------------aholman@uci.edu
4-2043
----------
4-7016
School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical SciencesSchool-wideBrian Paegelbpaegel@uci.edu4-9368
Program in Public HealthProgram-wideDavid Timberlakedtimberl@uci.edu4-3552
School of Physical Sciences
ChemistryJenny Yangj.yang@uci.edu4-1533
Earth System ScienceAlex Guentheralex.guenther@uci.edu4-7320
MathematicsAlessandra Pantanoapantano@uci.edu
Physics & AstronomyDavid Kirkbydkirkby@uci.edu
School of Social Ecology
Criminology, Law & SocietyBryan Sykesblsykes@uci.edu4-9583
Psychological ScienceCandice Odgerscodgers@uci.edu4-7983
Urban Planning and Public PolicyMartha Feldmanfeldmanm@uci.edu4-4252
School of Social Sciences
AnthropologyLilith Mahmudlmahmud@uci.edu4-8257
Cognitive ScienceEmily Grossmangrossman@uci.edu4-1530
EconomicsAntonio Rodriguez-Lopezjantonio@uci.edu
4-5366
Logic and Philosophy of ScienceCailin O'Connorcailino@uci.edu4-3954
Political ScienceMary McThomasmary.mcthomas@uci.edu
SociologyAnn Hironakahironaka@uci.edu
4-6800

Resources for DECADE Mentors