UCI ADVANCE Program for Equity and Diversity

An Equity Advisor is a senior faculty member, appointed as Faculty Assistant to the Dean in their respective schools. Equity Advisors participate in faculty recruiting by approving search strategies and raising awareness of Best Practices. Additionally, they organize faculty development programs, with both formal and informal mentoring, and address individual issues raised by women and underrepresented minority faculty.

Equity Advisors, together with the ADVANCE Program Director and Manager, form APAC, the Advance Program Advising Committee. APAC meets monthly to discuss current and best practices to promote faculty diversity and inclusion across campus.

Equity Advisors

SchoolNameEmailPhone
(949-824 area code/prefix unless stated)
Claire Trevor School of the Arts
Darryl Taylortaylord@uci.edu4-2830
School of Biological Sciences
Aimee Edingeraedinger@uci.edu
4-1921 or 4-1035
The Paul Merage School of Business
Shuya Yin
shuya.yin@uci.edu
4-9656
School of Education
Sandra Simpkins-Chaput
simpkins@uci.edu
4-3202
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Timothy Downing
------------------
Han Li
tldownin@uci.edu
--------------------
han.li@uci.edu
4-8744
------------------
4-5668
School of Humanities
Nasrin Rahimieh
nasrin.rahimieh@uci.edu

4-1964
Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
Veronica Berrocal
------------------
Magda El Zarki
vberroca@uci.edu
--------------------
elzarki@uci.edu
4-8608
-------------------
949-228-8584
School of Law
Mario Barnes
mbarnes@law.uci.edu4-5624
School of Medicine
Munjal Acharya
------------------
Lisa Flanagan
------------------
Anand Ganesan
------------------
Uma Rao
macharya@uci.edu
--------------------
lisa.flanagan@uci.edu
--------------------
aganesan@uci.edu
--------------------
umar@uci.edu
4-9183
---------------
4-5786 or 4-0245
----------------
4-0606
------------------
714-602-0442
Sue and Bill Gross School of Nursing
Dawn Bounds
boundsd@hs.uci.edu
4-4912
School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical SciencesMahtab Jafarimjafari@hs.uci.edu4-0145
Program in Public HealthSora Tanjasiritanjasir@uci.edu4-6009
School of Physical Sciences
Kathleen Johnson
kathleen.johnson@uci.edu
4-6174
School of Social Ecology
Jodi Quas
jquas@uci.edu
4-7693
School of Social Sciences
Matthew Freedman
matthew.freedman@uci.edu
4-8257