Events this week on anti-blackness and racism

 

The events of the last two weeks following the police killing of George Floyd have galvanized ongoing protests and calls for action against the structural racism in American society. Across the campus and in the School of Humanities, there have been several events to educate ourselves and learn about anti-black racism and to discuss what we can do to make meaningful change. In my drop-in lunch with faculty and staff yesterday, I was asked about further opportunities to learn and also share access to our events with members of the larger community who may not be aware of them. It is in that spirit that I share information about a few events happening this week.

 

The UCI Humanities Center https://www.humanities.uci.edu/humanitiescenter/ has hosted a number of events where the issues of racism, social inequality, and exclusion have been the focus. I encourage you to follow their postings and visit their website regularly. They have an upcoming event on anti-blackness this Wednesday:  Anti-Blackness and the Academy: Where do We Go Next?, a conversation facilitated by Humanities Center director Judy Wu. Please find further information and registration for a Zoom link at: https://www.humanities.uci.edu/humanitiescenter/calendar/events.php?recid=8566&dept_code_val=999-7&css_path=humanitiescenter&file_name=events

 

The Office of Inclusive Excellence has also hosted a number of events, including one today, Tuesday June 9, at 4pm on Becoming Anti-Racist. See their calendar and notifications at https://inclusion.uci.edu/ .

 

Professor and Chair of African American Studies Frank Wilderson, who attended yesterday’s drop-in lunch and spoke about presentations of his recently published book Afropessimism, shared two upcoming presentations open to the public:

  • Reading from Afropessimism and conversation with Lorenzo Butler, Publicist for the Miami Heat basketball team.
    When: Tuesday, June 9th at 4:30pm Pacific/6:30pm Central/7:30pm Eastern.
    Where: Here is the link where you can sign up  https://www.kclibrary.org/signature-events/afropessimism
  • Reading from Afropessimism and questions and comments from the moderator Semassa Kpatinvo Boko (a UCI graduate student and COLA organizer) as well as from the audience. When: Thursday, June 11th at 5pm Pacific/7pm Central/8pm Eastern.
    Where: Here is the link where you can sign up https://actionnetwork.org/events/frank-b-wilderson-iii/

 

Tyrus Miller
Dean, UC Irvine School of Humanities
HumanitiesDean@uci.edu
(949) 824-5133
Twitter: @MillerTyrus